Posted by: trashee | July 12, 2008

The song that leads the HNIC contest.. and other stuff

Been a couple of weeks since I have been able to sit before mon clavier and hammer out a few semi-meaningful words. Yours truly has been off work with the munchkins for a couple of weeks and, to put it generously, I just haven’t found the time to do any blogging.

My weeks with the kids have been all at once exhausting and wonderful. I have learned more about my youngest progeny and have thoroughly enjoyed seeing both of them thrive, play and laugh. I do wish I would have been able to spend not just weeks, but months with them. I did so with my eldest and I do believe it had a lasting impression on both of us; tho’ it is tough to see that reflected in her 15 year old mindset.

Well, it is back to the world of work on Wednesday and while I do love my career – it is fulfilling, challenging and within a positive environment – I love my kids more and will no doubt feel some pangs that morning.

Elsewhere in my thoughts have lingered that continuing foul taste of the current government and its dogged pursuit of perfection in the art of cynicism. In talking about Omar Khadr
and the likelihood of the Canadian government getting him out of Gitmo and back home to serve out what ever penalty the American kangaroo court imposes, Stevie called upon the ghosts of Liberals past. In defending his position that there is little option but to go along with the American judicial “process”, Harper said:

“The previous [Liberal] government took a whole range… all of the information into account when they made the decision on how to proceed with the Khadr case several years ago.”

Huh? Whenever the Steveroni invokes the “L” word it is to draw attention to them in a negative way. Now he is referring to that government as a brother-in-arms to support there own stance? Once again, please observe the Master of the Politics of Cynicism!

A not-so-funny detail about Mr. Kadr is that the American captors, in order to “soften him up” for interrogations, would wake him every three hours and move him to different cell; thus depriving him of continuous sleep. Haven’t those Yanks heard of the Geneva Convention? But is it truly torture? The parents of most infants will tell you that 3 hours of uninterrupted sleep is more often than not, as good as it gets!

I’m just kidding. Of course it is torture. The stuff they did to Mr. Kadr. Not the baby stuff.

On a brighter note that is not related to torture (hmmmm….), my baby sister got hitched on the 29th in my home town of Parry Sound. I pretended to be the Emcee for the occasion and managed to not screw things up too badly. My sis was beautiful, the rain held off and I gained a brother-in-law. Tim is a helluva standup guy and Kate had better treat him well. Tim’s uncle, and fellow blogger, Vic did the video for the day and you can see the trailer here.

One last thing. Remember the kerfuffle about the Mothercorp losing the HNIC theme? Remember they were going to hold a contest to come up with a new one? Well, here is my vote as it completely symbolizes what hockey “means”! Ya just gotta love this screwed-up country sometimes!

Leave a Reply

Categories

