Posted by: trashee | March 18, 2007

Harper’s big biz buddies

Harper said the Conservatives represent the interests of “hard-working people who didn’t have the time to stage protests or the money to hire lobbyists.”

O-K.

Of course, the Reform Conservatives certainly DO have the money to do both of the above. According to the Elections Canada database (which is very useful!), for the 2006 election, the Harperites were given $1.96 million by corporations. The Liberals received slightly less at $1.82 million and, not surprisingly, the NDP convinced businesses to part with $129,000.

Those whom Harper refers to as having time to stage protests, like the Greens, received only $16,000 smackeroos from business! Hardly enough to stage one of those pesky protests and not even close to retaining a half-decent lobbyist!

Maybe, if ol‘ Dead Eyes were serious about representing the interests of hard-working people, he should give back the almost 2 million that he and his cronies received for the last election.

Well, he can keep the equivalent of what the Greens pulled in.

Responses

  1. Hello,

    I just came across this blog and while it seems intelligent, well written and above all CANADIAN, there is one thing I must take issue with:

    THE TORONTO MAPLE LEAFS ARE NOT CANADA’S TEAM.

    If you lived in Toronto I would chalk it up to smog – but I can’t think of any reason to live in Ottawa and not support the Senators – or the Canadians – or the western teams – or ANY OTHER FREAKIN’ TEAM.

    What is wrong with you!

  2. Hi Pauline:

    First of all, allow me to thank you for your kind words. I do put some effort and thought into my posts and I appreciate the fact that you appreciate them.

    Now, about the Leafs.

    You are certainly not the first person to question my undying allegiance (and sanity), so I’d like to provide an abridged explanation.

    I have been a fan since I remember. In ’67, I was 4 years old when they won the Cup for the last time and I do remember it – albeit vaguely.

    I lived through Harold Ballard, pyramid power, the great days with Dougie and Wendel and the not so great days too.

    And I have NEVER wavered.

    I have lived in Parry Sound (my home town), Peterborough, Guelph and Ottawa – and never in T.O.

    So why the mindless devotion?

    I, in all honesty, haven’t a clue.

    Maybe it’s the underdog thing.

    Perhaps it’s the case of the reality being larger than the legend.

    Maybe I’m a pur laine masochist.

    I dunno.

    But what I do know is that one needs an anchor in life and this, for me, has been the Leafs.

    I can always count on them to screw things up at the last minute or make the stupid trade or break my heart. Or give up that goal or take the bad penalty at absolutely the wrong time.

    I have no idea how I’ll react if they ever reach the Promised Land.

    Maybe I’ll become a Sens fan.

    But in all seriousness, you’re in Montreal and surely must understand the meaning of loyalty?

    Even if you despise the Leafs, ya gotta understand why we think what we think.

    Doncha?

    Oh – and I love yer site – gonna put it on my faves if it’s OK with you.

  3. Loyalty, yeah yeah. Misplaced. Whatever. Gotta respect it. Grrrr.

    1967. heeeeeeeeeeeeee

    Okay. Thanks for the kind words on my site. Might actually get me to update! Please do link, as will I.

    Cheers!

    (If you don’t already, you gotta watch Robson Arms. They have characters named Perry (?Parry) Sound and Sault Ste. Marie. Hilarious.)


Leave a Reply

Categories

