Posted by: trashee | March 14, 2007

On the road to T.O

I wanted to say a few words about a group of folks with whom I have the distinct pleasure of working for the past several years.

Overall, I have been fortunate to have as my day to day colleagues a diverse, intelligent and fun example of humanity. Due to a very strong suggestion falling from the corporate hierarchy, I cannot name the place where I work. I think the mandarins on high are afraid that certain bloggers, by associating themselves with the Corporation, may cast aspersions upon said Corporation.

I, of course, would never do such a thing. I like and respect the insitution for which I toil.

Anyhow, our little group at work knows who they are if they are reading this.

But there is another buncha folks who I work with only on a from-time-to-time basis on subject matters in which we share a personal and professional interest – environmental matters – specifically, garbage.

For those of you may have been wondering about the “Trashy” moniker – well there you have it. A certain colleague that we like to call El B was the first to give me the name and it has stuck for about 7 or 8 years.

To carry on about my garbage group (we have been talking about giving ourselves a “gang” name): never have I been associated with people such as these. From across the land, they are firmly committed to “saving the world” and we are all certain that if only we were put in charge of making the big decisions, humanity would no longer have to fret about garbage, global warming or air pollutants. All materials consumed by our society would be designed in such ways that the production, use and consumption of these goods would have a negligible effect on the planet.

But alas, we are not in charge.

I guess all I really wanted to say was “thanks” to and salute my work colleagues and to all those others from across Canada that I have had the pleasure of working with for the past 10 years. I don’t think any of us are truly appreciated for what we do and the energy and commitment that we put forth.

I’d canoe through a salad of alligators with any of you on any day.

NO – I’m not going anywhere anytime soon – just feeling reflective today… must be the imminent arrival of the mini-Trashy…. or maybe I need more coffee.


Leave a Reply

Categories

