Posted by: trashee | December 24, 2006

Christmas 2006

Those of you who know me at all are well aware that my own belief system does not really cross any of the traditional paths.

It is not that I have anything personal against Islam, Christianity, Hinduism et al, but none of them have ever appealed to me. In fact, I find it difficult to believe how any of them can be appealing to anyone at all.

I just don’t “get” it.

But – it is an important day for millions of folks on this green and blue rock and in Canada, we are fortunate to live in a democracy that cares not and judges not a person based on their beliefs but on the strength of their character (Thanks, Dr. King).

So what does someone like me do at this time of the year and what are my wishes.

Well, I tell the lies like so many parents before me and deck the halls and eat the bird, etc. etc. Around the Solstice, I’m a walking and talking contradiction.

But I do wish people a Happy Christmas and wish peace to all.

And in these dark days when our climate is rebelling against abuses past and present and young men and women are dying in wars and children are dying and starving in too many parts of the world, we need all of the wishes for peace and good fortune that we can find.

Leave a Reply

Categories

